Grade 6 Writative Writers!

All Things Writing: Sentences, Stories, Poems…

Broken by Shelby T.

January15

(This was the beginning of a longer story I will eventually find time to write)

 

When something breaks you throw it out. No matter how much you love the item it does not heal. My name is Leviathan Daniels or Levi Jeralds. And this is the story of my broken family.

 

– Levi –

 

“I hate the hospital,” I said to my Dad. My Dad looked down at me, he had dark brown hair streaked with grey that swirled on the top of his head like waves, coupled with his infamous brown leather trenchcoat, he smelled of sea salt and aftershave, he looked like a classic sailor, except for his eyes, his eyes were lavender, a perfect shade of light purple. 

“Why is that little Leviathan ?” he asked me in a gruff voice.

 “It smells like hand sanitizer, the doctors pretend to think my name is pretty, and ALWAYS think I’m a boy,” I complained to him as if he cared what I thought. 

“You don’t look like a boy,” my Dad said back to me Ha I thought to myself he wishes I were a boy, My hair was cut short, I was only allowed to wear boy clothes, and he gave me a “cool” boys name, Leviathan, after a ginormous evil sea monster that was said to be the spawn of the devil. I continued to daydream about what it would be like to be free to act like a girl and play with barbies or soccer balls, and not just read and learn how to sail a ship, morse code, or navy seal formations, when suddenly two very loud cries pierced through the silence of the hospital. 

 

~ Violet ~

 

“Violet,” said with a sweet voice 

“it’s time to wake up” I looked up and saw my sister looking at me through very tired but perfect lavender eyes, 

“it’s time to get ready”. As my eyes adjusted to the light I saw my sister more clearly, who was already dressed and ready. She was in our mother’s old clothes and she looked like Cinderella or Sleeping beauty when they weren’t in a poofy dress except for she looked overworked and sad. I hugged my stuffed bunny one last time and got out of bed. Today was an especially sad day and I need to be strong for Levi, it was my birthday. I heard from other kids that birthdays are supposed to be happy, but on this day Levi was sad, more sad than usual, so sad she stayed home from school. I always wondered why. I looked over to Levi when suddenly Dad came rushing up the stairs. 

“What are you wearing!” he shouted at Levi 

“You thief you stole those clothes from Diana!” I was scared and confused, father was furious but what scared me was Levi’s fear and confusion, I was still confused though because of Diana, who was Diana and why was the name familiar? I was snapped back into reality when my father took a knife out of his pocket and cut Levi across her beautiful face. I let out a surprised yelp as my poor sister collapsed onto the floor sobbing and bleeding hard. He turned around to face me with broken lavender eyes, full of sadness and rage, no room for love. He started to walk towards me ready to stab me, I started to scream, but all of a sudden he stopped. I heard quiet whispers from the other side of the room and my father began to scream with me. We both looked at my sister who was whispering in a language I have never heard. She looked strange, unhinged, scared, and even evil. For a few moments she looked like a trapped princess but now she looked like Maleficent, or the Evil Queen torturing others. Father began to call my sister horrible names, Demon, Witch, and several others that I flinched when he said. Father screamed Demon one last time and he fell to the floor his last words echoing in the wooden attic. 

“Grab your stuff…we are leaving.” Were the first words I heard after our father died before we became orphans.

 

 

  • Jamieson Jeralds +

 

“Mr. Jeralds this is incredibly important.” said the old lady working at the Orphanage. This woman looks like she is from the Middle Ages I thought to myself, but being me I had to be nice to her.

 “Ah, yes I am just excited about adopting,” I said smoothly to her. I am not lying though I thought, I was heartbroken when Lilia discovered she could not have kids. I decided to adopt and she liked that idea so here I am today, the richest man in the world, Jameson Jerelds is going to adopt a child. No matter what the ridiculous journalists say there is nothing wrong with that. 

“Would you like to look at all the kids Mr. Jeralds?” the old bat said.

 “Yes I’ll take a look” I replied as she led me into a small playroom. I took a look around the room, most of the kids were drooling toddlers who were barely old enough to walk, except for two. They were sitting in the corner of the room, the older one was tanned with auburn hair and lavender eyes, the younger had extremely pale skin, with jet black hair and very dark blue eyes. Despite the fact they looked like opposites you could tell they were sisters. The older one looked as if she was fighting back a sea of tears, but what shocked me the most was an ugly and painful-looking scar, right across her subdued face. I felt bad for these two, most adults picked the younger ones, but both looked like they had been through a lot and needed a real home. I decided to go talk to them. 

 

 

  • Levi –

 

 

I held Violet in my arms as I watched the man circle around the room, he was clearly very rich. He had a golden watch, a navy blue suit, hazelnut colored hair, and dark skin, he looked like the opposite of my lunatic father, a man despite his fishing knowledge refused to get a job, who abused his kids, who forced me a sad little twelve-year-old to give my sister a chance at a good life. The rich man continued to look around the room until he saw us. I ignored him knowing he was just shocked by my hideous scar, but what surprised me was when he started walking towards us. He came up to our corner and kneeled down in front of us. Violet turned around to face the man and she said 

“Hi” to him meekly. 

“Hello there,” he said back 

“What are your names?”  my sister squeezed my hand and answered the rich man’s question

“My name is Violet” the man replied with a nice 

“You know violet is one of my favorite colors” My sweet little sister positively beamed at that statement, but then he asked me what was my name, and instead of lying I said my name was 

“Leviathan” he did well to hide his shock, but I was testing to see if he would make me change my name or just get freaked out and pick one of the babies. 

“Well Leviathan that may be THE coolest name I have ever heard, other than Violet of course,” he said but before I could say anything else he told us 

“Listen, I want to adopt you both, and I am here to ask if it’s ok with you.” That caught me by surprise, I thought he just wanted to talk to us to “cheer us up” by giving us false hope that we would be adopted. This man was different. He wanted to adopt us, to raise us, despite myself I actually had hope that we would be happy, and have our own bed to sleep in, and be fed actual food. It was going to be me and Violets happily ever after. I began to cry, “Yes”, “Please adopt us.”

 

~ Violet ~

 

“Is this really our new home, Mr. Jeralds?” I said half believing this was all a dream “Yes it is, but you can call me Dad.” 

“Oki, Dad” 

“Do we get a mom too?” I asked excitedly. Levi stopped in her tracks, I stopped too. 

“Sorry Levi” I apologized in a whisper, 

“It’s OK,” Levi said back smiling, her face and her eyes were still beautiful even with her scar, but there was also so much pain and I could tell Levi was not OK. She might never be OK again. I thought sadly as I explored the house, but I will never forget what she has sacrificed for me. I will always love her, I promised to myself, always.

print

One Comment to

“Broken by Shelby T.”

  1. January 22nd, 2021 at 7:49 pm      Reply Jacob Z Says:

    Epic just Epic can’t wait for the rest


Email will not be published

Website example

Your Comment:


Skip to toolbar